My husband’s stories

Road Trip + image credit: unsplash.com

Road Trip + image credit: unsplash.com

 

My husband’s playlist is on

A careful selection of road songs

Each song is a story

Each story,  a point of reference

 

He narrates these stories lest he might forget

They are sweet and silly and sometimes

there are scenarios that I don’t get

Boys will be boys and I choose not to fret

 

It helps that I am a great listener

It helps that I love his voice

It helps that he is a great story teller

he knows just the song to fill the blank noise

 

We are due for a road trip soon

and preparations have begun

musical renditions of a childhood gone by,

a teenage crush and hardier love of a grownup guy,

songs that inspire changes in life and

songs that accompany one through personal strife

 

There is so much I discover about my husband

through the songs and their lyrics

these little bits of him, he does not reveal

I pick them up from the lyrics or as the songs’ melody

to me, unveils

 

I have my favorites of these songs

this vast collection of his memories

not always in order but a random selection

some from before and some from after we were married

 

The ones I love are those that sound familiar

even if it’s the first time I hear that song

I can see myself in it,

I can hear that it’s the two of us all along

 

These moments that he and he alone chooses

with a song, to capture

are like a gorgeously orchestrated lure

Calling on a memory that’s common to us both

sometimes sweet, sometime silly

it sounds like, for us, the song was especially wrote.

Leave a Reply

